That Little Voice is Whispering…

At the beginning of the month I was blessed beyond belief to be able to attend the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) Western Washington meeting.

I can’t tell you how much winning this membership has mean to me and I’ve only been to one meeting. But it has me free styling my writing and so many of books have begun taking on a whole new life. I have been offered to start a lecture series soon and am continuing to get my portfolio ready to send to agents. My work is becoming my passion.

It’s what drives me from the moment I wake up and what keeps me at my second job. 

I have a long list of stories I’m writing. Some are children’s books, some early readers, poetry, and even the beginnings of a novel in the works.

To say I have been busy is an understatement, but I wouldn’t change it.

I have started to push myself to either write for ten minutes before bed, or when I wake up. It’s in those moments where my mind is just foggy enough not to care about perfect spelling and flawed grammar. I can get out the story, or at least a upscaled outline.

This is something I think we need to remember: we don’t grow unless we are practicing and improving. Don’t polish the same stone hoping to make it better and better. All you are doing is rubbing off the edgy bits that make it unique. Refine it, but keep your character. That’s where your voice lies. Your writing voice is your own, and only you can tell it like you can. We each come from different backgrounds and different experiences, so we all have different perspectives. Use it when writing… even if you feel it’s already been done! It’s your story, from your point of view, and that’s what’s valuable.

 

So looking back at this rough and tumble month I see a lot of things going on. A lot of scenery missed while doing the big bits of being an adult, but these are experiences I can use for my writing one day so I am willing to push through them and listen to my inner voice.

My inner voice is saying to keep writing and dream bigger, and I hope you will as well.

Leave a Reply

