Growth Mindset

“You can only become great at something you are willing to sacrifice for.”

– Dr. Maya Angelou

c27dyvbuqaajewv

 

I have read Maya’s words hundreds of times… Practically engrained I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings into every heartbeat. Now more than ever her many lessons echo within me. I had a handful of people that influenced how I lived my life.

The kindness of Princess Diana, the compassion of Mother Teresa, the unapologetic attitude of Dolly Parton, the playfulness of Felicia Bond, the poetic form of Shel Silverstein, and the heart of Maya Angelou.I am an amalgamation of more than one of these amazing individuals.

I am the byproduct of teaching myself how to love in the face of hatred, to breathe when I can’t find my lungs for screaming, and to constantly be looking for the bright side because you can get lost in the dark to easily.

The way we grow up is important. We go through a million trials to end up in the second we are in with only a billion more to experience. Why waste those moments and trials feeding something that does nothing for your soul? Water the passions that drive you. Sacrifice your time and shed light on the garden lying dormant. You never know what your future will be but every act in passion is a prequel to your greatest masterpiece. You don’t have to decide what that will be right now, time will do that for you, your only job is to live a full life and if you are going to sacrifice your time for anything: make it worth your while.

I am planting myself a new garden. Nurturing my forgotten roots. If I want something done right, and I don’t see it happening, I’m putting in the effort and doing it myself. I may be a stubborn mule about it but the fact remains: If you want something done, you have to put in the work. You have to sacrifice.

 

Leave a Reply

